We are beta testing our new website and would love your feedback. Click here to visit it.

About us
About us
Committees of the Synod
Other pages in Committees of the Synod:

About Us

Find a Church

The Constitution

What We Believe

General Synod

Committees of the Synod

Bishops' Appeal Advisory Committee

Board for Social Responsibility (NI)

Board for Social Responsibility (RI)

Church of Ireland Marriage Council

Church of Ireland Youth Department

Church's Ministry of Healing

Commission on Ministry

Committee for Christian Unity

Council for Mission

Liturgical Advisory Committee

Standing Committee

Central Communications Board

Broadcasting Committee

Literature Committee

Church in Society

Priorities Fund

Working Group on Disability

Children's Ministry Working Group

General Synod Website

Representative Body

Allocations Committee

Audit Committee

Executive Committee

Investment Committee

Legal Advisory Committee

Library & Archives Committee

Property Committee

Stipends Committee

Central Offices


Office Services

Information Technology


Unit Trust Valuation Calculator


Property & Trusts

Synod Services & Communications

Press Office


Contact Directory

RCB Library

Archive of the Month

“Archives of the Month” – Archived


Location & Contacts

Opening Hours




Regulations for Readers of Archives and Manuscripts

Library News

Library Publications

Parish Register Series

Texts and Calendars series

Other publications

RCB Library Catalogue

Online Parish Records

Anglican Record Project

Bunclody Union (Ferns)

Theological Institute

Clergy Pensions

Links with other Churches

Bishops' Appeal

Bishops' Appeal Website

Contact Us

Banner images

Printable version

Commission on Ministry

The Commission on Ministry was established by the General Synod in 1996.  In accordance with its terms of reference, the Commission makes recommendations concerning the Christian Ministry, both lay and ordained.  This includes the deployment of stipendiary and non-stipendiary clergy appropriate to the requirements of the Church of Ireland in the future.  Matters relating to ministry may be referred to the Commission by the House of Bishops, the Standing Committee and the Representative Church Body.

Membership of the Committee consists of three bishops, three clerical and three lay members of the General Synod elected triennially, two members of the Representative Body, one member of the Pensions Board and Standing Committee and one Honorary Secretary of the General Synod.  There are three co-opted members.  The Principal of the Theological College is an ex-officio member.