We are beta testing our new website and would love your feedback. Click here to visit it.

About us
About us
General Synod
Other pages in General Synod:

About Us

Find a Church

The Constitution

What We Believe

General Synod

Committees of the Synod

Bishops' Appeal Advisory Committee

Board for Social Responsibility (NI)

Board for Social Responsibility (RI)

Church of Ireland Marriage Council

Church of Ireland Youth Department

Church's Ministry of Healing

Commission on Ministry

Committee for Christian Unity

Council for Mission

Liturgical Advisory Committee

Standing Committee

Central Communications Board

Broadcasting Committee

Literature Committee

Church in Society

Priorities Fund

Working Group on Disability

Children's Ministry Working Group

General Synod Website

Representative Body

Allocations Committee

Audit Committee

Executive Committee

Investment Committee

Legal Advisory Committee

Library & Archives Committee

Property Committee

Stipends Committee

Central Offices


Office Services

Information Technology


Unit Trust Valuation Calculator


Property & Trusts

Synod Services & Communications

Press Office


Contact Directory

RCB Library

Archive of the Month

“Archives of the Month” – Archived


Location & Contacts

Opening Hours




Regulations for Readers of Archives and Manuscripts

Library News

Library Publications

Parish Register Series

Texts and Calendars series

Other publications

RCB Library Catalogue

Online Parish Records

Anglican Record Project

Bunclody Union (Ferns)

Theological Institute

Clergy Pensions

Links with other Churches

Bishops' Appeal

Bishops' Appeal Website

Contact Us

Banner images

Printable version

General Synod

The General Synod meets annually in May. It is a meeting of representatives of all dioceses in the Church of Ireland. The meeting lasts for three days and is normally held in Dublin, but in recent years it has been held in Armagh, Belfast, Cork, Kilkenny and Galway. More information is available on the Synod Website.

What does the Synod do?

The primary purpose of the Synod is to enact legislation for the whole Church of Ireland. Bills, which are proposals for legislation, are considered and become Acts or Statutes if approved. Less formal proposals are submitted as motions which, if approved, become resolutions. The Synod also receives reports from various Committees and Boards, which are debated by the members. Committees of the Synod are normally elected by the Synod for a three–year term of office.

Who is on the Synod?

The General Synod consists of three Orders: the Bishops, the Clergy and the Laity. The three Orders sit together as two Houses: the House of Bishops and the House of Representatives. The Archbishops and Bishops sit as the House of Bishops. The House of Representatives numbers 216 clerical and 432 lay members who are elected by the Diocesan Synods and who hold office for a three–year period. 

Who runs the Synod?

The President (or Chairman) of the General Synod is the Archbishop of Armagh. At the start of the triennium, the Synod elects four Honorary Secretaries, two clerical and two lay, to oversee the running of the Synod and its Standing Committee. There is normally one clerical and one lay Honorary Secretary from each of the Provinces of Armagh and Dublin.

The Standing Committee carries out the work of the General Synod during the year. It meets six times during the year and totals 71 members representing the three Orders.

The day–to–day work of servicing the Synod and its numerous Committees is carried out by the Synod Services and Communications Department of the Representative Church Body, based in Church of Ireland House in Dublin. The Head of the Department and Assistant Secretary of the General Synod is Janet Maxwell, assisted by Dr Catherine Smith as Synod Officer.

Whom do you contact? 

All communications should be addressed to:

The Assistant Secretary of the General Synod of the Church of Ireland
Church of Ireland House
Church Avenue
Dublin 6

Tel: +353 (0)1 497 8422
Fax: +353 (0)1 497 8821
Email: synod