We are beta testing our new website and would love your feedback. Click here to visit it.

Press Releases

Show me items from:


Other pages in News:

Press Releases

Diocesan News

Committee News

Bishops' Advisory Commission on Doctrine

Bishops' Appeal Committee

Bishops' Selection Conference

Board of Education (N.I.)

Board of Education (R.O.I.)

Broadcasting Committee

Central Communications Board

Church in Society Committee

Commission on Ministry

Council for Mission

Disability Working Group

Hard Gospel Committee

Literature Committee

Liturgical Advisory Committee

Marriage Council

Parish Development Working Group

Priorities Fund

Standing Committee

Synodical Reform Committee

Irish Times Notes

RCB Library Notes

Upcoming Events

RSS news feed

View latest news as RSS

Printable version

Bishops’ Election Confirmed By Church Of Ireland House Of Bishops

Press Releases

Added on 04/03/2013

The House of Bishops of the Church of Ireland met during the week of 24 February 2013 and has confirmed the election of the following clergy to the Episcopal ministry of the Church of Ireland:

The Venerable Leslie Thomas Clayton Stevenson to serve as Bishop of Meath and Kildare
The Reverend Samuel Ferran Glenfield to serve as Bishop of Kilmore

Dates of consecrations will be announced in due course.
The Electoral College for Meath and Kildare met on 28 January 2013.
The Electoral College for Kilmore met on 4 February 2013.


Church of Ireland
For further information please contact: 
Church of Ireland Press Office
Church of Ireland House
61–67 Donegall Street
Belfast, BT1 2QH
Tel: (028) 9082 8880 (from NI)
Tel: (048) 9082 8880 (from RoI)
Fax (028) 9032 3554
Email: Press Office


Paul Harron: (duty phone) +44 (0)7787 881582 
Peter Cheney (duty phone) +44 (0)7774295369
Janet Maxwell: (duty phone) +353 (0)87 948 4412